Whitesboro LogoWhitesboro Logo

Business Opportunities Menu

Industrial Development
Type A Sales Tax
Type A Agenda Index

Economic Development
Type B Sales Tax
Type B Agenda Index
Grant Programs

Sales & Use Tax
Property Tax

Zoning / Services
Zoning Summary
Zoning Map
Doing Business in Whitesboro

Business Forms Index

Business Links

Business Opportunities

Whitesboro Business

Whitesboro Industrial Development Corp

The Type A (formerly 4A) Whitesboro Industrial Development Corporation (WIDCO) passed by the voters of Whitesboro in 1998 for the purpose of sales tax for Economic Development. 

WIDCO-WEDCO Board of Directors
Front row, from left are WIDCO members, Matthew Pike, president;  Candy Chapman, vice president; John Bratcher and Eric Keller. Not shown is Keith Muldrew. In back row, from left, are Colby Meals, ex officio and city council member; and WEDCO members Mike Haynie, president, Craig Falco, vice president; Jerry Warren Chris Goedecke and Lynda Anderson, Whitesboro economic director and secretary for both WIDCO and WEDCO. Not shown are Chris Dobbs, Jim Keller, and Ryan Harper.

The Whitesboro Industrial Development Corporation, a nonprofit Corporation, is a sales tax commission under the Development Corporation Act of 1979, as amended and shall be governed by Section 4A of said Act and specifically Article 5190.6, Section 4A, Revised Civil Statutes of the State of Texas, as now existing or as may be amended. 

WIDCO Type A Meetings are posted under NOTICES in the Business Opportunities area and are normally held on the First Wednesday of each month at 8:00 AM unless posted otherwise.

The WIDCO has an operating Board of Directors which consists of five (5) Directors, two (2) City Council representative, a representative from the Whitesboro Independent School District, a representative from the Whitesboro Area Chamber of Commerce and a Chief Administrative Officer.   Following is a list of those current members:

Board of Directors
President: Matthew Pike
Vice President: Candy Chapman
Secretary/Treasurer:  Lynda Anderson

John Bratcher
Eric Keller
Susan Vardell-Cox

Ex-Officio Members
Michael Marter
Ryan Harper

Council Representative
Jim Keller
Colby Meals

Economic Development Director
Lynda Anderson
Contact us at:  edc@WhitesboroTexas.com
(903)564-3311 office
P.O. Box 340, 111 W. Main, Whitesboro, Texas  7627

Type A Sales Tax proceeds are limited by the State of Texas on expenditures.  Use of these tax proceeds may be spent on infrastructural improvement needs in the City of Whitesboro for the creation of new or expanded business enterprises, as is required by the act.  These proceeds may not be used for infrastructural improvement needs for residential properties and or new or expanded improvements without the creation of new jobs.